Current weather

  • Overcast
  • 75°

Student recognitions

Posted: Sunday, May 16, 2010

Rockhurst Dean's List


Sarah Skidmore of Martinez, has been named to fall 2009 Dean's List at Rockhurst University.

Kaplan graduates

Kaplan University celebrated the graduation of its winter 2010 class on Jan. 30 in Miami, Fla. The following local students were awarded degrees: Kenyatta Garrison of Evans, was awarded a associate of applied science in criminal justice; Makacha White of Grovetown, was awarded a master of business administration in business administration, and Sean Yarroll of Augusta, was awarded a master of science in criminal justice.

William and Mary Dean's List

Evan Mulloy of Martinez, has been named to the fall 2009 Dean's List at The College of William and Mary.

GSWU honor

Christopher P. Hall of Evans, have been named to the fall 2009 Academic Achievement List at Georgia SouthWestern State University.

GSWU graduate

Adam W. McKenney of Evans, has graduated from Georgia SouthWestern State University in the fall of 2009.

Berry College Dean's List

The following Columbia County residents have been named to the fall 2009 Dean's List at Berry College: Amanda Hemann of Evans, Courtney Baker of Martinez, Dana Wenger of Martinez, Grace Johnson of Martinez and Lara Thompson of Martinez.

Emory Dean's List

The following students were named to the Dean's List of Emory College, for the 2009 fall semester: Porscha Dickens of Martinez, daughter of Lincoln Van Dyke Dickens and Parrish Dickens; Priya Gulati of Martinez, daughter of Dr. Nidhi Kapil Gulati and Dr. Adarsh Kumar Gulati; Guilly Rebagay of Martinez, son of Guillermo Rebagay and Dr. Winona R. Rebagay.

GSU Dean's List

The following local students have been named to the Dean's List at Georgia Southern University for fall 2009: Appling : Alfred C. Todd IV, Joseph C. Hester, Casey M. Brush, Eric P. Peterson, Rebecca M. Marshall; Grovetown : Allaura L. Sanchez, Byron T. White, Christopher S. Rushing, Jennifer L. Anderson, Jessica M. Holland, Kori L. Scott, Matthew T. Wood, Misty E. Rockefeller, Nathaniel R. Hartsell, William J. Spurlin; Harlem : Alan S. Coleman, Megan E. Little, Zachary J. Reynolds; Evans : Allie L. Howard, Amanda K. Kepshire, Andrew J. Campbell, Angelika J. Foucher, Areaka D. Luke, Bradley R. Willson, Brooke S. Weinstein, Carson L. Baura, Christopher A. Wise, Dan M. Hester, Daniel J. Hamilton, Elizabeth A. Cincoski, Erica D. Laterza, Erin G. Dye, Erinn E. Newman, Herbert R. Boykin, Jennifer K. Alexander, Katelyn M. Leszczynski, Katharine L. Beene, Kathryn L. Fox, Kelsey A. Robertson, Matthew A. Magoulas, Matthew T. Baxter, Meagan D. McGahee, Michael R. Brown, Michael S. Williams, Ryan S. Cutcliffe, Samantha M. May, Sarah C. Feero, Shannin L. Wright, Shawna M. Parsons, Stevie L. Nadolsky, Susannah M. Roupe, William D. Kenney, Zachary I. Slone; Martinez : Alana R. Widener, Ashley N. Ferguson, Brianna E. Lewis, Caitlin J. Chapman, Caroline E. Rawlins, Constance A. Parks, Daniel G. May, David B. Eller, Duane P. Borba, Emily A. Harn, Ian E. Puczkowski, Kayle M. Hutchins, Robert J. Robinson, Ryan J. Babula, Sarah M. Gross and Sebastian C. Hodges.

VMI Dean's List

Daniel L. Welsh , a senior from Evans, has been named to the fall 2009 Dean's List at Virginia Military Institute. Cadet Welsh is majoring in Economics/Business and his parents are Mr. & Mrs. Michael L. Welsh.

Samford University Dean's List

Jennifer Ann Reichl of Evans has been named to the Dean's List for the fall semester at Samford University in Birmingham, Ala.

Becker Dean's List

Austin Allen Phillips , of Thomson, was named to the Dean's List for fall 2009 at Becker College, Worcester, Mass.

Louisburg Dean's List

Rosbie Mutcherson of Martinez, has been named to the fall 2009 Dean's List at Louisburg College.

GSU Scholar's Day

The following local high school students were invited to attend Scholar's Day at Georgia Southern University in February: Kat Zielke from Evans High School, Kalynn Jones from Greenbrier High School, Will Perfect from Greenbrier High School, and Marlena Leahy , Leigh Beeson , Hillary Haas and Matt Stroud from Lakeside High School.

Tufts Dean's List

Emily Maple Dynan of Martinez, has been named to the fall 2009 Dean's List at Tufts University. Maple is a junior majoring in economics and is a 2007 graduate of Lakeside High School.

GSU Honors Day

Georgia Southern University students were recognized at the annual Honors Day Ceremony held recently on the university's campus.

Christina Belge from Martinez received the John F. Nolen Student Government Association Scholarship; Renee Fritz from Grovetown received the Biology Award - Sophomore; Amber Graham from Martinez received the Outstanding Scholar Graduating Senior; Jessica Holland from Grovetown received the Nutrition and Food Science Award; Steven Kuss from Grovetown received the Robert J. Focht Memorial ROTC Award; Michael Sizemore, Jr. from Evans received the Outstanding Scholar Graduating Senior; Lauren Tadlock from Evans received the Outstanding Scholar Graduating Senior; Diandre Ussery from Martinez received the Susan Bacon MacLachlan Memorial Scholarship; Michelle Wehner from Martinez received the Outstanding Scholar Graduating Senior; and Drew Ziemba from Martinez received the William J. Deal Memorial Music Scholarship.

Virginia Tech Commandant's List

Robert Edwards , of Evans, was named to the Virginia Tech Corps of Cadets Commandant's List. An Air Force cadet, Edwards is a senior majoring in French.

University of South Carolina President's List

Barbara Ann Bufford of Evans, has been named to the fall 2009 President's Honor List for earning a 4.0 grade point average on a minimum of 12 credit hours. She is a junior at the University of South Carolina majoring in sport and entertainment management and is a 2007 graduate of Augusta Christian School.

Iowa Dean's List

Thomas William Bentley II of Evans, majoring in liberal arts and sciences, has been named to the fall 2009 Dean's List at the University of Iowa.

Chick-fil-A scholarship awards

Austin Spurlock and Michael Werrick from Martinez are the newest recipients of the Chick-fil-A national Leadership Scholarship program. Both recipients received the $1,000 scholarship from franchise Operator Jason Adams at the Mullins Crossing restaurant. Spurlock is studying education at the Georgia Military College and Werrick is studying history at Augusta State University.

Louisville Dean's List

Lauren Chandler of Evans, has been named to the University of Louisville School of Nursing fall 2009 Dean's List for her exemplary grades. Lauren is also a 2006 graduate of Lakeside High School.

Who's Who pick

Koomi Orr from Evans was recently selected for Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges from Georgia Southern University.

Berklee College of Music Dean's List

Larrie Reece of Evans has been named to the Dean's List for the 2009 fall semester for the Berklee College of Music in Boston, Mass.


  • Main: 706-868-1222
  • Fax: 706-823-6062
  • Email:
  • 4272 Washington Rd, Suite 3B, Evans, Ga. 30809