• Comment

Early voting is underway for general election

Posted: October 16, 2012 - 11:11pm
Back | Next
Photo by Jim Blaylock  Dane Lawrence of Grovetown holds up his early voting form as he waits in line at the Columbia County Board of Elections.
Photo by Jim Blaylock Dane Lawrence of Grovetown holds up his early voting form as he waits in line at the Columbia County Board of Elections.

Early voting for this year’s general election began Monday, with voters lining up for the opportunity in Columbia County.

The Board of Elections office, in Building E of the government complex in Evans, is open weekdays from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. Based on the high number of early voters Monday, with 1,025 casting ballots, interest in the election seems high, said Registration Coordinator Nancy Gay.

The presidential election is at the top of this year’s ballot, along with state Public Service Commission and congressional races.

No Democrats filed for the partisan races in Columbia County this year, so the only contested local race is district attorney, a post that spans three counties.

Voters also will voice their opinion on two state constitutional amendments and decide a local question that could impose term limits on county commissioners.

Early voting will be held at the Board of Elections office through Nov. 2. In addition, voters can visit Patriots Park and Stevens Creek Community Church on Oct. 27 for Saturday voting and all three locations will be open Oct. 29 through Nov. 2 for advance voting. All precincts will be open on election day, Nov. 6, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

For information, call the Board of Elections office at (706) 868-3355.


Note: While all possible races in Columbia County are listed, not all races appear on all ballots. Races for seats in specific districts will appear only on the ballots of voters who live in those districts. Go to the Board of Elections page at www.columbiacountyga.gov to review individual sample ballots by precinct.


 Mitt Romney, Paul Ryan – Republican

 Barack Obama, Joe Biden – (Incumbent) Democrat

 Gary Johnson, James Gray – Libertarian

Public Service


 Chuck Eaton – (Incumbent) Republican

 Stephen Oppenheimer – Democrat

 Brad Ploeger – Libertarian

Public Service


 Stan Wise – (Incumbent) Republican

 David Staples – Libertarian

10th District U.S.


 Paul Broun – (Incumbent) Republican

12th District U.S.


 Lee Anderson – Republican

 John Barrow – (Incumbent) Democrat

24th District State


 William S. “Bill” Jackson – (Incumbent) Republican

23rd District State


 Jesse Stone – (Incumbent) Republican

 Robert Ingham – Democrat

33rd District State House

 Tom McCall – (Incumbent) Republican

 David Vogel – Democrat

121st District State House

 Barry Fleming – Republican

122nd District State House

 Ben Harbin – Republican

123rd District State House

 Barbara Sims – Republican

District Attorney

 Ashley Wright – (Incumbent) Republican

 Evita Paschall – Democrat

Probate Judge

 Alice Padgett – (Incumbent) Republican

Clerk of Superior Court

 Cindy Mason – (Incumbent) Republican


 Clay Whittle – (Incumbent) Republican

Tax Commissioner

 Kay Allen – (Incumbent) Republican


 Vernon Collins – (Incumbent) Republican

Chief Magistrate

 Jason Troiano – Republican

County Commission District 2

 Trey Allen – (Incumbent) Republican

County Commission District 3

 Charles Allen Jr. – (Incumbent) Republican

Columbia County Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor

(Vote for three)

 Edward “Gene” Hair – (Incumbent)

 Anna “Jeanie” Hill – (Incumbent)

 Michael R. Rorick

Constitutional Amendments (Yes or No)

• “Shall the Constitution of the state of Georgia be amended to allow state or local approval of public charter schools upon the request of local communities?”

• “Shall the Constitution of the state of Georgia be amended so as to provide for a reduction in the state’s operating costs by allowing the General Assembly to authorize certain state agencies to enter into multiyear rental agreements?”

Special Referendum (Yes or No)

“Shall the Act be approved which places term limits on the chairperson and members of the Board of Commissioners of Columbia County?”

  • Comment