• Comment

Tuesday vote wraps up election season

Posted: November 3, 2012 - 9:55am  |  Updated: November 6, 2012 - 2:25pm
Back | Next
Dottie Miller (left) and Cayleight Coule prepare to vote Tuesday morning at Marvin United Methodist Church.  Jim Blaylock
Jim Blaylock
Dottie Miller (left) and Cayleight Coule prepare to vote Tuesday morning at Marvin United Methodist Church.


After three busy weeks of early and advance voting and a swamped Saturday session, Columbia County elections officials are counting down to Tuesday’s end to the election season.

More than 13,000 voters cast ballots within the first 11 days, a higher total than had voted up to that point during the far longer early voting period in 2008 – which also didn’t include Saturday voting, said Columbia County Board of Elections Registration Coordinator Nancy Gay.

“Saturday voting appears to have been a favorite among the voters,” Gay said. “We received nothing but good reviews and ‘thank yous.’”

Based on additional early votes this past week and more than 2,100 absentee ballots that have been returned, Gay is projecting more than 20,000 votes will have been cast early. That could signal a total election turnout approaching 80 percent, compared to just less than 77 percent in 2008.

Candidates also were counting down to the Tuesday finale, including 12th District Republican congressional hopeful Lee Anderson.

During a Tuesday press conference at his Evans headquarters with South Carolina U.S. Rep. Joe Wilson, Anderson said his hopes for winning the district’s Augusta-Columbia County area hinge on familiarity.

“I think the people here in Richmond County and Columbia County know me the best because I have lived here my whole life,” Anderson said. “I’ve lived at 160 Louisville Road. I have been elected to the school board, the County Commission and state representative from 160 Louisville Road.

“I have not moved three times just to get elected,” he added, a jab at incumbent Democrat John Barrow, whose residence has been drawn out of the district during reapportionment twice.

While early and advance voting has been limited to just three sites, all of the county’s 46 precincts will be open Tuesday from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. for the final day of voting.

In addition to the 12th District congressional race, which covers most of Columbia County, the presidential election is at the top of this year’s ballot, along with state Public Service Commission races.

No Democrats filed for the partisan races in Columbia County this year, so the only contested local race is district attorney, a post that spans three counties. Incumbent Republican Ashley Wright faces a challenge from Democrat Evita Paschall.

Voters also will voice their opinion on two state constitutional amendments and decide a local question that could impose term limits on county commissioners.

Gay urges voters to confirm their registration in advance, especially if they registered by mail, by going to the Board of Elections page via the county’s Web site, www.columbiacountyga.gov.

Sample ballots also are available, specifically tailored for each voting precinct.

Voters must bring a government-issued picture ID with them to cast a ballot.

For information, call the Board of Elections office at (706) 868-3355.



See a sample ballot on Page 3



Note: While all possible races in the Columbia County area are listed, not all races appear on all ballots. Races for seats in specific districts will appear only on the ballots of voters who live in those districts. Go to the Board of Elections page at www.columbiacountyga.gov to review individual sample ballots by precinct.


• Mitt Romney, Paul Ryan – Republican

• Barack Obama, Joe Biden – (Incumbent) Democrat

• Gary Johnson, James Gray – Libertarian


Public Service Commission

• Chuck Eaton – (Incumbent) Republican

• Stephen Oppenheimer – Democrat

• Brad Ploeger – Libertarian

Public Service Commission

• Stan Wise – (Incumbent) Republican

• David Staples – Libertarian

10th District U.S. Congress

• Paul Broun – (Incumbent) Republican

12th District U.S. Congress

• Lee Anderson – Republican

• John Barrow – (Incumbent) Democrat

24th District State Senate

• William S. “Bill” Jackson – (Incumbent) Republican

23rd District State Senate

• Jesse Stone – (Incumbent) Republican

• Robert Ingham – Democrat

33rd District State House

• Tom McCall – (Incumbent) Republican

• David Vogel – Democrat

121st District State House

• Barry Fleming – Republican

122nd District State House

• Ben Harbin – Republican

123rd District State House

• Barbara Sims – Republican

District Attorney

• Ashley Wright – (Incumbent) Republican

• Evita Paschall – Democrat

Probate Judge

• Alice Padgett – (Incumbent) Republican

Clerk of Superior Court

• Cindy Mason – (Incumbent) Republican


• Clay Whittle – (Incumbent) Republican

Tax Commissioner

• Kay Allen – (Incumbent) Republican


• Vernon Collins – (Incumbent) Republican

Chief Magistrate

• Jason Troiano – Republican

County Commission District 2

• Trey Allen – (Incumbent) Republican

County Commission District 3

• Charles Allen Jr. – (Incumbent) Republican

Columbia County Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor

(Vote for three)

• Edward “Gene” Hair – (Incumbent)

• Anna “Jeanie” Hill – (Incumbent)

• Michael R. Rorick

Constitutional Amendments
(Yes or No)

• “Shall the Constitution of the state of Georgia be amended to allow state or local approval of public charter schools upon the request of local communities?”

• “Shall the Constitution of the state of Georgia be amended so as to provide for a reduction in the state’s operating costs by allowing the General Assembly to authorize certain state agencies to enter into multiyear rental agreements?”

Special Referendum (Yes or No)

• “Shall the Act be approved which places term limits on the chairperson and members of the Board of Commissioners of Columbia County?”

  • Comment