• Comment

Election to be called for term limits

Posted: July 30, 2012 - 4:18pm

The Columbia County Board of Elections will meet the day after the primary election to prepare for a referendum on the next election.

The meeting, set for 9 a.m. Wednesday, will be held at the Board of Elections office in Evans, said Registration Coordinator Nancy Gay.

The board is to accept the call for a special referendum election in response to legislation allowing voters to decide whether to impose a two-term limit on Columbia County commissioners, Gay said.

The action is a formality, but is required before the referendum can be approved by the U.S. Justice Department and placed on the Nov. 6 General Election ballot.

Columbia County commissioners in January unanimously approved a resolution asking the county’s legislative delegation to place the term limits question on the county ballot. State Rep. Ben Harbin sponsored the local legislation, which won approval from the Legislature and later was signed by Gov. Nathan Deal.

Voters in November will be asked whether to approve a measure that, starting next year, would limit county commissioners to holding the same seat for two consecutive four-year terms. It wouldn’t apply to the current terms of incumbent commissioners, but would start at their next election.

Commissioners and the chairman would be required to sit out for at least one year before seeking the same office again, though a chairman would be allowed to run for a district seat, and a district commissioner would be allowed to run for chairman.

The measure would not apply to members of the school board.

Currently, county commissioners, school board members and the chairmen of both five-member bodies serve four-year terms, with elections staggered so that no more than three from each body are up for election in the same year.

State lawmakers are elected to two-year terms with no statutory limits on the number of terms they can serve. U.S. House members serve unlimited two-year terms, while U.S. senators serve unlimited six-year terms. Georgia’s governor, like the United States president, is limited to two consecutive four-year terms.

  • Comment

Comments (4)


Thank it took long enough.

This is a republican county and republicans have always been for term limits!



Nice gesture, but it will NEVER FLY. When it comes down to it, if the people who are supporting term limits are basically voting for their jobs and livelihood, it will never pass. Look at this, both Georgia REPUBLICAN Senators voted against the Feb. 12, 2012 term limit amendment in Congress. Maybe something to think about, when their terms are up, since republicans are so in favor of term limits...........


Ron Cross Pushed It

Interesting that he waited until he was ready to retire.

Barry Paschal

Not really

Not really, RM. He could actually run for two more terms under this law. He's more concerned about who's next than he is any potential affect on himself. (Which, pretty much, is what elected officials ARE supposed to be concerned with, isn't it?)